Author Archives: Chris Jensen

About Chris Jensen

I hold a position as an Assistant Professor at Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, NY, where I conduct research and teach courses in ecology and evolution.

Making sure you receive a ballot for the 2013 elections

The Elections Committee intends to hold the election for UFCT President from December 16th through the 30th. We would like to hold the election via eBallot, but are still working out the logistics of the actual voting process.

What we can say is that all members will be notified via postal mail about whatever elections process we constitute. We will be using your postal address on file with NYSUT to deliver this information. If you have any question about whether your address on file with NYSUT is accurate and up-to-date, we encourage you to contact the Elections Committee to notify us of your current address.

Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns about the election.

Results of 2013 Union Officer Nominations process

The faculty union Elections Committee met on Wednesday, December 4th, 2013 and reviewed the nominations for President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.

19 nominations were received via the form on the Pratt Faculty Union website. There were no paper nominations received. All nominations were deemed valid by the committee.

The nominations are as follows:

9 nominations for Kye Carbone
5 nominations for Jenny Lee
Result: The Elections Committee will hold an election between Jenny Lee and Kye Carbone for the officer position of PRESIDENT. The election will take place via either electronic or postal ballot from December 16th to the 30th. Details to follow.

14 nominations for Emily Beall
Result: Emily Beall is the only candidate nominated and will assume the position of VICE PRESIDENT for the calendar years 2014-2016.

10 nominations for Holly Wilson
Result: Holly Wilson is the only candidate nominated and will assume the position of SECRETARY for the calendar years 2014-2016.

9 nominations for Dennis Masback
1 nomination for Laura Elrick
Result: Dennis Masback is the only candidate with the required three nominations and will assume the position of TREASURER for the calendar years 2014-2016.

If any Pratt Faculty Union member wishes to review the submitted nominations they can contact the Elections Committee and arrange a time to review them in the presence of a member of the committee.

You can download an electronic version of this report here.

Nominations period for 2013 Officer Elections is closed

As of Monday, December 2nd at 5 pm, the nominations period for the 2013 UFCT Officer elections has come to an end.

Nominations will be tallied by the Elections Committee on Wednesday, December 4th. Should there be more than one qualified nominee for any of the four officer positions, we will immediately conduct an election using electronic voting.

Please check back to learn more about the elections procedure and to make sure that you know how to exercise your right to vote in the election, which will take place before the end of the year.

Questions about the elections process? Feel free to contact the Elections Committee.

Nomination period for 2013 Officer Elections is open

The 2013 UFCT Elections Committee is soliciting nominations to begin the process of holding elections for UFCT President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The current term will expire on Dec 31, 2013. You are not obligated to submit a nomination for all four positions.

The Elections Committee would like to receive nominations of UFCT members in good standing (no arrears of union dues) for these offices. [Agency payers are ineligible to vote or to have their names nominated for office]. Nominators can nominate themselves as well as others. In order to be placed on the elections ballot, a nominee must secure at least three (3) nominations.

Nominators must secure consent from the member being nominated and must include a telephone number or email where the nominee can be reached for verification. Nominations that do not contain clear contact information will be disqualified

There are two ways to submit your nominations:

  1. You can use the electronics nomination form located here:; or
  2. You can print, complete, and return page 2 of this document (“CANDIDATE NOMINATION FORM”) as instructed.

The deadline for receiving nominations is Monday, December 2nd, 2013 at 5:00 pm.

On December 2nd, 2013, the Elections Committee will begin reviewing the list of nominees, verifying their status with the Union and their willingness to serve if elected. After reviewing the nominations, the Elections Committee will prepare ballots in accordance with NYSUT rules. At that time, Final Nominees will be asked to submit a half-page statement with respect to their qualifications and beliefs regarding the office they are seeking. After all materials from the candidates have been received, voting guidelines and a link to our electronic voting service will be emailed to union members.

For full elections procedures, please visit:

Questions? Feel free to contact the Elections Committee.

2013 UFCT Elections Committee:
Danny Gerzog, Professor (FT, tenured) in Humanities & Media Studies
Gerson Sparer, Professor (FT, tenured) in Mathematics & Science
Dan Wright, Assistant Professor (FT, untenured) in Mathematics & Science
Darini Nicholas, Adjunct Instructor in Social Science & Cultural Studies
Kumru Toktamis, Adjunct Associate Professor with CCE in Social Science & Cultural Studies
Chris Jensen, Assistant Professor (FT, untenured) in Mathematics & Science