Nomination period for 2013 Officer Elections is open

The 2013 UFCT Elections Committee is soliciting nominations to begin the process of holding elections for UFCT President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The current term will expire on Dec 31, 2013. You are not obligated to submit a nomination for all four positions.

The Elections Committee would like to receive nominations of UFCT members in good standing (no arrears of union dues) for these offices. [Agency payers are ineligible to vote or to have their names nominated for office]. Nominators can nominate themselves as well as others. In order to be placed on the elections ballot, a nominee must secure at least three (3) nominations.

Nominators must secure consent from the member being nominated and must include a telephone number or email where the nominee can be reached for verification. Nominations that do not contain clear contact information will be disqualified

There are two ways to submit your nominations:

  1. You can use the electronics nomination form located here:; or
  2. You can print, complete, and return page 2 of this document (“CANDIDATE NOMINATION FORM”) as instructed.

The deadline for receiving nominations is Monday, December 2nd, 2013 at 5:00 pm.

On December 2nd, 2013, the Elections Committee will begin reviewing the list of nominees, verifying their status with the Union and their willingness to serve if elected. After reviewing the nominations, the Elections Committee will prepare ballots in accordance with NYSUT rules. At that time, Final Nominees will be asked to submit a half-page statement with respect to their qualifications and beliefs regarding the office they are seeking. After all materials from the candidates have been received, voting guidelines and a link to our electronic voting service will be emailed to union members.

For full elections procedures, please visit:

Questions? Feel free to contact the Elections Committee.

2013 UFCT Elections Committee:
Danny Gerzog, Professor (FT, tenured) in Humanities & Media Studies
Gerson Sparer, Professor (FT, tenured) in Mathematics & Science
Dan Wright, Assistant Professor (FT, untenured) in Mathematics & Science
Darini Nicholas, Adjunct Instructor in Social Science & Cultural Studies
Kumru Toktamis, Adjunct Associate Professor with CCE in Social Science & Cultural Studies
Chris Jensen, Assistant Professor (FT, untenured) in Mathematics & Science